Super Rugby

Dawie Snyman hits out at penalty try decision

Dawie Snyman (Gallo Images)
Dawie Snyman (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Former Springbok fullback and legendary Western Province coach Dawie Snyman has criticised the decision to award the Sharks a penalty try in their Super Rugby win over the Stormers at Newlands.

The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.

Snyman, 66, does not agree with the decision.

“Siya’s foot was there first. Who is to say Reinach did not deliberately place the ball on Siya’s foot? I’m not saying the Stormers deserved to win, but the decision was wrong,” Snyman told Netwerk24.

Snyman played 10 Tests for the Springboks in the 1970s and was also the WP coach when they won the Currie Cup five times in a row in the 1980s.

Jonker defended himself afterwards, but there appears to be varying opinions on whether he made the right call or not.

Retired South African referee Jonathan Kaplan disagreed with the decision, while a report on the SA Rugby referees website states that Jonker made the correct call.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Rugby
46% - 3303 votes
Cricket
11% - 778 votes
Football
18% - 1279 votes
Athletics
2% - 140 votes
Boxing
1% - 57 votes
Cycling
2% - 148 votes
Golf
5% - 363 votes
Motorsport
7% - 514 votes
Tennis
3% - 220 votes
Water sports
1% - 63 votes
American sports
1% - 56 votes
MMA / WWE / UFC
3% - 187 votes
Vote