Super Rugby

Dyantyi, Cronje back in Lions starting XV

Aphiwe Dyantyi (Gallo Images)
Aphiwe Dyantyi (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - Lions coach Swys de Bruin has named his team for Saturday’s Super Rugby quarter-final against the Jagaures at Ellis Park.

De Bruin made two changes to his starting XV to the one which beat the Bulls 38-12 last weekend.

Ross Cronje replaces the injured Nic Groom at scrumhalf, with the latter undergoing surgery for a broken hand on Tuesday. Groom will miss the remainder of the tournament.

In the only other change to the starting XV, Springbok Aphiwe Dyantyi comes in at left wing which will see Courtnall Skosan move to the bench.

Prop Dylan Smith makes his way on to the bench after recovering from a calf strain sustained against the Sharks on June 30, as do Dillon Smit, the replacement scrumhalf.

Kick-off for Saturday's match is scheduled for 15:05.



15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Marvin Orie, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

Substitutes: 16 Corne Fourie, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Courtnall Skosan, 23 Howard Mnisi


15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Matias Moroni, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Marcos Kremer 4 Guido Petti, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta

Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Tomas Lavanini, 21 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 22 Martin Landajo, 23 Sebastian Cancelliere