Super Rugby

Jean-Luc du Preez returns for Sharks

Jean-Luc du Preez (Getty)
Jean-Luc du Preez (Getty)

Canberra - Sharks coach Robert du Preez has hardly tinkered with his team for Saturday's crunch Super Rugby match against the Brumbies in Canberra.

There is one change apiece to the forwards and backline with Thomas du Toit returning to pack down at tighthead with John-Hubert Meyer shifting to the bench, and out on the wing, sees a rotational change with Kobus van Wyk replacing Sbu Nkosi.

Perhaps the biggest news, though, is the return of Jean-Luc du Preez who is included on the bench for his first appearance since injuring his ankle in last year's Currie Cup final.

The players who did the business in Saturday's 50-22 win over the Sunwolves in Durban have been rewarded for their showing, with just two changes made for a match that is important for both sides.

The Brumbies opened their campaign with an away victory against the Sunwolves, but have slipped up twice (also away) in their previous two clashes, with this weekend’s match against the Sharks their first at home this season.

"After reviewing their game against the Rebels, the Brumbies were unlucky not to have scored a few more tries," the coach explained from the team’s base in Australia.

"We know it’s going to be a very tough game in Canberra. They want to get their campaign going and for us it’s really important to have a good start to our tour."



15 Andrew Muirhead, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Lealiifano (captain), 11 Lausii Taliauli, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Lachlan McCaffrey, 5 Blake Enever, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 James Dargaville, 23 Tom Banks


15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Wian Vosloo, 5 Stephan Lewis, 4 Ruan Botha (captain), 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Tyler Paul, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Marius Louw, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24