Super Rugby

Latu starts for Waratahs in Ellis Park semi-final

Tolu Latu (Getty)
Tolu Latu (Getty)

Cape Town - The selection of hooker Tolu Latu is the only change to the Waratahs' starting line-up for Saturday's Super Rugby semi-final against the Lions in Johannesburg.

Kick-off is at 15:05. 

Latu will make his first start of the season, replacing Damien Fitzpatrick, who will be on the bench. 

Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson said the inclusion of Latu was a reflection of the type of game the Lions were likely to play. 

“This match will be a very physical encounter, particularly with the breakdown and scrum being key battlegrounds. These are areas where Tolu excels. We are expecting a real set piece battle so we need to be good in this area to compete with the Lions’ scrum and lineout,” Gibson said. 

Gibson said he did not envisage the Lions changing their game plan. 

“I can’t see the Lions changing what has worked for them all season. We learnt a great deal from the last time we played them when they won easily, and when their strengths led them to victory. We have again focused on our defence this week as we see that as key to victory.” 

The Waratahs advanced to the final four after turning a 17-point deficit at half-time into a seven-point victory against the Highlanders. 

“You cannot look past the support of our loyal members and fans who got the 'NSW' chant going and helped our team win that match last week," he said. 

"And add to that the fighting traits of our team, the way we managed the yellow card period and the excellent tries we scored. We are going into Saturday’s match with the message of not having any regrets." 

Meanwhile, wing Taqele Naiyaravoro is set to play his 50th Super Rugby match this weekend.



15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Louren Erasmus, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Marvin Orie, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

Substitutes: 16 Corne Fourie, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Hacjivah Dayimani, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Courtnall Skosan, 23 Howard Mnisi


15 Israel Folau, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Bernard Foley (captain), 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Will Miller, 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Tom Robertson

Substitutes: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Brad Wilkin, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Cam Clark

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Fri 30 Oct 20 19:00 PM (SAST)
Tafel Lager Griquas
Emirates Airlines Park
Sat 31 Oct 20 16:30 PM (SAST)
Phakisa Pumas
Mbombela Stadium
Sat 31 Oct 20 19:00 PM (SAST)
Loftus Versfeld
Sat 24 Oct 20
Bulls 41
Sharks 14
Fri 23 Oct 20
Phakisa Pumas 37
Stormers 42
Sat 17 Oct 20
Stormers 23
Lions 17
1. Bulls
2. Cheetahs
3. Stormers
4. Phakisa Pumas