Super Rugby

O'Connor back as Reds make 6 changes for Bulls clash

The Reds have made six changes to their starting XV for Saturday's Super Rugby clash against the Bulls in Brisbane.

Kick-off is at 10:15 (SA time).

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

James O'Connor will resume his role at flyhalf for the Round 7 clash after recovering from a minor ankle injury.

Chris Feauai-Sautia shifts to outside centre to cover the loss of Hunter Paisami who has been ruled out with a knee injury.

Bryce Hegarty has been brought into the starting side and will fill the void on the right wing left by Feauai-Sautia's positional switch.

Following standout performances in the Reds' first three games of the season, prop Dane Zander has earned his maiden Super Rugby start.

For the first time in their Super Rugby careers, Angus Blyth and Harry Hockings will start alongside each other in the second row.

Blyth's promotion into the XV sees Lukhan Salakaia-Loto shift back to No 6 for the third time this year.

There are three changes to the reserves with Harry Hoopert recalled into the match-day 23, while Angus Scott-Young and Isaac Lucas are set to come on as finishers this weekend at Suncorp Stadium.

"It's great to be back home in front of our loyal Queensland fans this week. They'll enjoy two games of quality rugby with the Crusaders and Sunwolves playing before us," coach Brad Thorn told the Reds' official website.

"The Bulls are always a tough opposition. They got their first win last week and will be full of confidence heading into this game.

"We took plenty of positives from our performance in Christchurch last week and we look forward to a tough contest against the Bulls."



15 Jock Campbell, 14 Bryce Hegarty, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Henry Speight, 10 James O'Connor, 9 Scott Malolua, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Liam Wright, 6 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 5 Harry Hockings, 4 Angus Blyth, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Alex Mafi, 1 Dane Zander

Substitutes: 16 Ed Craig, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Josh Nasser, 19 Angus Scott-Young, 20 Fraser McReight, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Isaac Lucas, 23 Filipo Daugunu


15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Burger Odendaal (captain), 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Muller Uys, 7 Josh Strauss, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Lizo Gqoboka

Substitutes: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Ryno Pieterse, 20 Ruan Steenkamp, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Divan Rossouw

- Reds Rugby