Super Rugby

Springbok duo the latest to join Sunwolves

Rudy Paige (Gallo Images)
Rudy Paige (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Sunwolves are slowly but surely piecing together a new-look 2020 Super Rugby squad.

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

In what will be their final season in Super Rugby, the Sunwolves on Monday added six players to the 15 their announced last month - and the three since then.

There's a distinct South African-flavour to the six new faces - with half of them hailing from the country.

Springbok 13-Test scrumhalf Rudy Paige will join fellow 12-Test centre/wing JJ Engelbrecht in donning Sunwolves colours in 2020. In addition, Bulls prop Conraad van Vuuren will also make his debut for the Japanese franchise.

Both Paige and Engelbrecht joined French Top 14 side Clermont during 2019.

Meanwhile, former Sharks back Garth April was among the 15 names released in November, bringing to four the current number of South Africans in the Sunwolves' ever expanding squad.

The Sunwolves open their 2020 Super Rugby campaign with a clash against Australia's Rebels on Saturday, February 1 in Fukuoka. 

Latest Sunwolves squad:

Sione Asi, Jarred Adams, Leni Apasai, Jaba Bregvadze, Ben Hyne, Tom Rowe, Brendon O’Connor, Mitch Jacobson, Jake Schatz, Onehunga Kaufusi, Naoto Saito, Garth April, Jordan Jackson-Hope, Ben Te’o, Siosaia Fifita, Rudy Paige, JJ Engelbrecht, Conraad van Vuuren, Michael Stolberg, Corey Thomas, Mateaki Kafatolu, Kotaro Yatabe, Tevita Tupou, Shunsuke Nunomaki

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24