Super Rugby

Swys: No radical changes at Lions

Swys de Bruin (Gallo Images)
Swys de Bruin (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Swys de Bruin plans to stick to the winning recipe instilled by Johan Ackermann at the Lions.

The Johannesburg-franchise announced on Tuesday that De Bruin, currently the team’s assistant coach, will take over as head coach after this year’s Super Rugby competition.

He will replace Ackermann, who recently signed a deal as head coach of English side Gloucester.

“It is a huge honour and privilege for me to take over from Johan Ackermann as coach,” De Bruin told Netwerk24 on Tuesday.

De Bruin will keep changes to a minimum though.

“It would be dumb to make radical changes to a recipe that’s working well. I’ve also been part of this process with Ackers for five years and I know how things work here and what we do in order to be successful. I’ll make a few changes here and there, but nothing radical,” De Bruin continued.

The services of defence coach JP Ferreira was also retained, while De Bruin confirmed that a new forwards coach would be appointed.

Lions CEO Rudolf Straeuli also expressed his satisfaction at the appointment of De Bruin.

"The (Lions) Company is pleased to announce that De Bruin has put pen to paper for the position of head coach at the Lions. We believe it will bring continuity and stability within the different teams in the various competitions that we are taking part in," Straeuli said via a press statement.

Meanwhile, the Lions also announced that a number of key players had pledged their futures to the union.

Lions contract extensions: Warren Whiteley, Albertus Smith, Andries Coetzee, Andries Ferreira (renewed), Anthony Volminck, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Corne Fourie, Courtnall Skosan (renewed), Cyle Brink, Dillon Smit (renewed), Dylan Smith, Elton Jantjies, Franco Mostert, Harold Vorster, Howard Mnisi, Jaco Kriel, Jaco van der Walt (renewed), Jacques van Rooyen (renewed), Johannes Jonker, Justin Ackerman (renewed), Lionel Mapoe (renewed), Lourens Erasmus, Malcolm Marx (renewed), Marvin Orie, Robbie Coetzee, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Ross Cronje, Ruan Ackermann, Ruan Combrinck, Ruan Dreyer, Shaun Reynolds, Sti Sithole, Sylvian Mahuza (renewed)

loading... Live
England 204
West Indies 15/0 (4.6 ov)
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3802 votes
11% - 907 votes
18% - 1462 votes
2% - 161 votes
1% - 67 votes
2% - 171 votes
5% - 414 votes
8% - 630 votes
3% - 256 votes
Water sports
1% - 64 votes
American sports
1% - 62 votes
3% - 217 votes