Super Rugby

Waratahs hold off Rebels in Australian derby

Quade Cooper (Getty Images)
Quade Cooper (Getty Images)

Melbourne - The Waratahs kept their Super Rugby finals dream alive on Friday by beating the Rebels 20-15 at AAMI Park.

As it happened: Rebels v Waratahs

The Sydney-based Waratahs have been dominant against the Rebels in recent times, and their bruising win in Melbourne was their sixth in-a-row over their arch-rivals.

It moved them up to 30 points in the Australian Conference with two games to play, four behind the Rebels and Brumbies, who face the Sunwolves in Tokyo on Saturday.

"It was always going to be a grind, Aussie derbies are always super physical so it's hard to run away with a game," said Waratahs captain Michael Hooper.

"There were some big plays there, but we also put ourselves under some serious pressure. Was a quality game from both teams."

The ‘Tahs got the opening points, with Adam Ashley-Cooper finishing a flowing backline move and Bernard Foley kicking the conversion.

A Quade Cooper penalty reduced the deficit, but it was quickly cancelled out by two penalty kicks by Foley after sloppy Rebels' errors.

The Waratahs had all the possession, but the home team settled down and in an intense period Curtis Rona made a try-saving tackle on the Rebels' Marika Koroibete, then Richard Hardwick and Cooper both had tries disallowed.

They went to the break with the 'Tahs 13-3 ahead, before the Rebels finally got a deserved reward nine minutes after the restart with Cooper dotting down.

Rona though quickly got another try for the visitors as the game heated up before Will Genia gathered an offload from Koroibete for a five-pointer to set up a nervy finish.



Tries: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Curtis Rona

Conversions: Bernard Foley (2)

Penalties: Foley (2)


Tries: Quade Cooper, Will Genia

Conversion: Cooper

Penalty: Cooper



15 Dane Haylett-Petty (captain), 14 Jack Maddocks, 13 Reece Hodge, 12 Matt To’omua, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Richard Hardwick, 6 Luke Jones, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Matt Philip, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Anaru Rangi, 1 Tetera Faulkner

Substitutes: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Ross Haylett-Petty, 20 Angus Cottrell, 21 Michael Ruru, 22 Billy Meakes, 23 Tom English


15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson

Substitutes: 16 Andrew Tuala, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Jed Holloway, 20 Will Miller, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Mack Mason, 23 Cameron Clark

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24