Super Rugby Aotearoa

Warren Gatland names Chiefs team for final Super Rugby Aotearoa game

Chiefs coach Warren Gatland. (Photo by Michael Bradley/Getty Images)
Chiefs coach Warren Gatland. (Photo by Michael Bradley/Getty Images)

Chiefs coach Warren Gatland has made several changes to his match-day squad for their final Super Rugby Aotearoa clash of the season against the Hurricanes in Wellington on Saturday.

Kick-off is at 09:05 (SA time).

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

The Chiefs front row has a reshuffle, with Ollie Norris set to start for the first time at loosehead. Samisoni Taukei'aho also earns a starting role, shifting Bradley Slater to the bench, while All Black prop Nepo Laulala will again start at tighthead.

The lock duo of Naitoa Ah Kuoi and Mitchell Brown will complete the tight five. All Black Luke Jacobson returns after breaking his hand to start at No 6, joining captain Sam Cane at No 7 and the powerful Pita Gus Sowakula at No 8.

Flyhalf Kaleb Trask will steer the ship at No 10 in the only change to the starting backline.

The reinforcements off the bench include Waikato prop Rob Cobb, who will be hoping to make his Super Rugby debut, alongside Taranaki back Kini Naholo who has been named in jersey No 23. Other changes to the bench include lock Tupou Vaa’i and loose forward Mitchell Karpik joining the 23-an squad.

The Chiefs have lost all seven of their encounters and Gatland said this weekend was a chance to develop a young group of men and finish on a high.

"We have two young debutants sitting on the bench who have been training hard and it is a good chance for them to get a taste of Super Rugby.

"There is still a lot to play for in our eyes. The team have a lot of pride in the jersey and our club. As always, they will be leaving it all on the field,” he told the Chiefs' official website.



15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Peter Umaga-Jensen, 12 Vince Aso, 11 Wes Goosen, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 TJ Perenara (co-captain), 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Dane Coles (co-captain), 1 Ben May

Substitutes: 16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Tevita Mafileo, 18 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 19 Kane Le'aupepe, 20 Devan Flanders, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Billy Proctor, 23 Jonah Lowe


15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Kaleb Trask, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Ollie Norris

Substitutes: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Rob Cobb, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Mitchell Karpik, 21 Lisati Milo-Harris, 22 Quinn Tupaea, 23 Kini Naholo

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24