Nizaam Carr slots straight back into Bulls starting XV for Ospreys battle

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Nizaam Carr (Photo by Steve Haag/Gallo Images)
Nizaam Carr (Photo by Steve Haag/Gallo Images)

Bulls director of rugby Jake White has named his team for Saturday's URC clash against Welsh side Ospreys in Pretoria.

As announced earlier in the week, lock Ruan Nortje will lead the Bulls in the absence of Marcell Coetzee, who is off to Japan.

Coetzee will play for Kobe Steelers over the next few months before returning to Loftus, where he has a contract until 2027.

Springbok Nizaam Carr, who recently rejoined the Bulls from financially-stricken English club Wasps, will start at No 6 upon his return.

Carr, 31, left the Bulls for Wasps in 2021 but has made his way back to Pretoria after Wasps went into administration.

In the backline, Stravino Jacobs moves to left wing with David Kriel on the right. Wandisile Simelane starts at fullback supported by the inside and outside centre pairing of Lionel Mapoe and Harold Voster.

"We are learning and getting to understand our competitors better the more we play against them and that gives us a lot of confidence as team in how much we believe in doing well in the competition," Nortje said.

"We expect that Ospreys will come prepared and looking to get one over us but we have prepared well and we now have the opportunity to finish off the job."

READ | Like any Jake move, Ruan Nortje's Bulls captaincy was carefully planned: 'I've known 3 months'

The Bulls are third on the URC standings with seven wins from five matches, while Ospreys lie 13thh with a solitary win from seven games.

Saturday's clash at Loftus Versfeld kicks off at 15:00.



15 Wandisile Simelane, 14 David Kriel, 12 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Stravino Jacobs, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 WJ Steenkamp, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Ruan Nortje (captain), 4 Jano Swanepoel, 3 Francois Klopper, 2 Bismarck du Plessis,1 Gerhard Steenekamp

Substitutes: 16 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Ruan Vermaak, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Zak Bruger, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Marco Jansen van Vuren


15 Max Nagy, 14 Luke Morgan, 13 Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler, 12 Keiran Williams, 11 Keelan Giles, 10 Jack Walsh, 9 Rhys Webb (captain), 8 Morgan Morris, 7 Will Hickey, 6 Ethan Roots, 5 Huw Sutton, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Garyn Phillips

Substitutes: 16 Sam Parry, 17 Rhys Henry, 18 Ben Warren, 19 James Fender, 20 Jack Regan, 21 Reuben Morgan-Williams, 22 Luke Scully, 23 Cai Evans  

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Show Comments ()