United Rugby Championship

Stormers lose star No 8 Roos for Sharks clash

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Evan Roos on the charge against the Bulls in Pretoria. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)
Evan Roos on the charge against the Bulls in Pretoria. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Stormers coach John Dobson has made three changes to his starting XV for Saturday's United Rugby Championship encounter with the Sharks in Durban.

READ | Lions name Alberts at lock for Jukskei derby against Bulls

Two of those are injury enforced in the pack, which survived an onslaught from the Bulls before winning 30-26 in Pretoria last weekend.

No 8 Evan Roos is sidelined with a minor rib injury, while lock Salmaan Moerat is unavailable after picking up a knee injury. Adre Smith and Hacjivah Dayimani come in to replace them in the starting line-up.

In the backline, speedster Angelo Davids also starts at right wing in place of Sergeal Petersen.

With Moerat injured, Springbok prop Steven Kitshoff will take sole ownership of the captaincy duties.

Elsewhere, loose forwards Nama Xaba and Marcel Theunissen come in on the bench, having impressed for Western Province in the Currie Cup.

Dobson said they expected a stern test in the Shark Tank.

"While it was disappointing to lose Salmaan and Evan this week, we are looking forward to seeing what all of the players coming in this week can add," he told the Stormers website.

"Evan picked up a minor knock on his rib, so we are managing him conservatively, while also keen to see what Hacjivah can do at the back of the scrum.

"Angelo, Nama and Marcel have all performed well for Western Province and will be looking to grab this opportunity."

Saturday's clash at Kings Park kicks off at 17:05.



15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Boeta Chamberlain, 9 Grant Williams, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Jeandre Labuschagne, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutions: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Kutha Mchunu, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Jaden Hendrikse, 22 Tito Bonilla, 23 Jeremy Ward


15 Damian Willemse, 14 Angelo Davids, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain)

Substitutes: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Nama Xaba, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Dan du Plessis, 23 Warrick Gelant

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24