Boks thrash USA, Habana level with Lomu

Cape Town - The Springboks have defeated the US Eagles 64-0 in a Pool B encounter played at the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park Stadium in London.

As it happened: Springboks v USA

Damian de Allende scored the first try of the match as early as the sixth minute when he collected a loose pass, handed off a defender and scored under the posts. Handre Pollard converted and the Springboks were 7-0 up.

South Africa had to wait until the 26th minute to extend their lead when a very dominant Bok scrum won a penalty try, again converted by Pollard. Try as they might, the Springboks could not breach an impressive US defence and the teams went into half-time with Fourie Du Preez's men leading 14-0.

Early in the second half Bryan Habana scored a converted try when he ran onto a perfectly weighted kick by Du Preez after Francois Louw secured a brilliant turnover. Bismarck du Plessis secured a valuable bonus point try in the 47th minute, forcing his way over from after Vermeulen initially went close.

The flood gates then opened and the Springboks ran in further tries through Francois Louw (2), Bryan Habana (2), Jessie Kriel and Lwazi Mvovo. Habana now has 15 Rugby World Cup tries which equals the record held by Jonah Lomu. 

Heyneke Meyer made extensive use of his substitutes, most notably bringing on Rudy Paige who became Springbok number 869. 



Tries: Damian de Allende, Penalty Try, Bryan Habana (3), Bismarck du Plessis, Francois Louw (2), Jessie Kriel, Lwazi Mvovo.

Conversions: Handre Pollard (4), Morne Steyn (3)


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez (captain), 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Morné Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein

United States

15 Blaine Scully, 14 Brett Thompson, 13 Folau Niua, 12 Andrew Suniula, 11 Zach Test, 10 Shalom Suniula, 9 Niku Kruger, 8 Samu Manoa (captain), 7 John Quill, 6 Danny Barrett, 5 Matthew Trouville, 4 Louis Stanfill, 3 Chris Baumann, 2 Phil Thiel, 1 Oliver Kilifi

Replacements: 16 Joe Taufetee, 17 Zach Fenoglio, 18 Mate Moeakiola, 19 Titi Lamositele, 20 Cam Dolan, 21 Al McFarland, 22 Mike Petri, 23 Chris Wyles

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
West Bromwich Albion 1
Sheffield United 0
loading... Live
Western Province 20
Bulls 22
loading... Live
France 3
Italy 0
loading... Live
Wales 13
England 24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 10058 votes
11% - 2701 votes
19% - 4547 votes
2% - 595 votes
1% - 226 votes
2% - 553 votes
5% - 1185 votes
8% - 1997 votes
3% - 811 votes
Water sports
1% - 213 votes
American sports
1% - 298 votes
3% - 771 votes