Bafana Bafana

Banyana Banyana crowned Aisha Buhari Cup champions after goal fest against Nigeria

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Desiree Ellis (Photo by Sebastian Gollnow/picture alliance via Getty Images)
Desiree Ellis (Photo by Sebastian Gollnow/picture alliance via Getty Images)

Banyana Banyana are the inaugural 2021 Aisha Buhari Cup champions after beating Nigeria on Tuesday afternoon.

Desiree Ellis' charges ran out 4-2 winners after leading 3-0 at half-time.

South Africa dominated the first 45 minutes and were in the lead thanks to an Alozie Chidi own goal in the opening quarter.

A Linda Motlhalo penalty doubled the lead in the 17th minute after a handball by Nigeria's Ebi Onome.

A third goal from Gabriela Salgado followed just before the break as Banyana were in total control.

The second half saw Nigeria fight back to 3-2 thanks to a brace by Vivian Ikechukwu.

Banayana fans' nerves were eased however, as Mamello Makhabane scored from the spot after Linda Motlhalo was brought down in the area.

That made the game safe at 4-2 and South Africa played out the remaining minutes to be crowned champions.

It's the first time the two sides have met competitively since Nigeria beat South Africa on penalties at the 2018 African Cup of Nations final.


We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
After the opening weekend of URC action, what did you make of the South African struggles?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It exposed the quality of South African rugby...
38% - 2097 votes
There were positives to take
7% - 367 votes
We shouldn't read too much into one weekend
16% - 918 votes
It will take the SA sides time to adjust to the new competition
39% - 2188 votes