Bafana Bafana

Khune back as Ntseki names Bafana squad for AFCON qualifiers

Molefi Ntseki (Gallo Images)
Molefi Ntseki (Gallo Images)

Head coach Molefi Ntseki on Thursday named a 25-man Bafana Bafana squad for the upcoming African Cup of Nations qualifiers against Sao Tome and Principe.

Bafana Bafana will play two double-header fixtures against the islanders at the FNB Stadium on 27 March before a return leg on 31 March.

Ntseki's side lie second behind leaders Ghana (6) in Group C with three points after two matches and will be aiming to boost their qualification hopes with two wins against their upcoming opponents.

Bafana will be without Kamohelo Mokotjo, Thami Mkhize, Thato Mokeke and Thapelo Morena who have all been ruled out through injury.

Ntseki has made nine changes to the squad that faced Ghana and Sudan in the last qualifiers in November last year.

"Sao Tome on paper looks like an easy game," Ntseki said. "But my experience has taught me not to look down on anyone.

"I think back of what happened with Seychelles. We need to be careful, we don't want players to be complacent. We need the right attitude.

"It's important to get maximum points in these matches, so we can be in a good position against Ghana and Sudan. Our players need to know all games are important."

Itumeleng Khune also makes his return to the squad after a period out through injury with Gladwin Shitolo and Reeve Frosler the only new caps.

"We were at Chiefs and saw him in intense training and were very happy with what we saw. Even though we had already selected him before we went to Chiefs' training," Ntseki added.



Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Brandon Petersen (Bidvest Wits)


Erick Mathoho, Reeve Frosler (Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo, S'fiso Hlanti (Wits), Gladwin Shitolo (Golden Arrows), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Sundowns), Thabo Matlaba (Black Leopards). 


Andile Jali, Themba Zwane (Downs), George Maluleke, Lebogang Manyama (Chiefs), Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SS), Lebogang Phiri (Guigamp), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Percy Tau (Club Brugge), Thulani Serero (Al Jazira).


Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Bradley Grobler (Supersport United), Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United).

- Compiled by Baden Gillion

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 10169 votes
11% - 2734 votes
19% - 4602 votes
2% - 604 votes
1% - 230 votes
2% - 560 votes
5% - 1204 votes
8% - 2020 votes
3% - 821 votes
Water sports
1% - 216 votes
American sports
1% - 300 votes
3% - 783 votes