Bafana Bafana

Pule, Mabasa crack Bafana Bafana nod as Broos names 34-man provisional squad

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Hugo Broos (Gallo Images)
Hugo Broos (Gallo Images)

Bafana Bafana head coach Hugo Broos has announced a provisional 34-man squad to start preparing for the crucial back-to-back 2022 Qatar FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Ethiopia in October.

Orlando Pirates trio Goodman Mosele, Vincent Pule and Tshegofatso Mabasa made the cut, while Luke Fleurs of SuperSport United and Tercious Malepe of AmaZulu also received a call-up to the national team.

South Africa are top of Group G with four points from two games following their goalless away draw to Zimbabwe before beating Ghana 1-0 at FNB Stadium three days later.

With just four fixtures remaining for this round of the qualifications, Bafana will now shift their focus to taking on the East Africans.

Broos and Bafana travel to Ethiopia on Saturday, 9 October before welcoming the same opponents for the return leg at FNB Stadium on Tuesday, 12 October. (kick-off times to be announced)

The 69-year-old Broos is expected to cut down his final 23-man squad on Saturday, 25 September LIVE on SABC 1 at 13:30.

Bafana Bafana provisional 34-man squad:


Ronwen Williams (Supersport United FC), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu FC), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows FC)


Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United FC), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Terrence Mashego (Cape Town City), Sifiso Hlanti (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Vusi Sibiya (Baroka FC), Rushine De Reuk (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Thibang Phete (Belenenses SAD, Portugal), Njabulo Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United FC), Tercious Malepe (AmaZulu FC)


Thabani Zuke (Golden Arrows FC), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Sphephelo Sithole (Belenenses FC, Portugal), Yusurf Maart (Sekhukhune FC), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United FC), Goodman Mosele (Orlando Pirates FC), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy FC), Jesse Donn (SuperSport United FC)


Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United FC), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Victor Letsoalo (Royal Am FC), Luther Singh (F.C Copenhagen, Denmark), Percy Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt), Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates FC), Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town City FC), Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates FC)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5529 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 936 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2877 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4715 votes