Chile select all overseas players for Peru friendly amid social unrest

Arturo Vidal (Getty Images)
Arturo Vidal (Getty Images)

Santiago - Chile coach Reinaldo Rueda has called up a squad entirely made up of overseas-based players for his side's friendly against Peru later this month.

The match comes at a time of political and civil unrest in Chile which has caused an interruption in the domestic fixture list, prompting fears that local players would not be fit for the game in Lima on November 19. 

Their friendly against Bolivia four days earlier was cancelled earlier this week amid violent anti-government protests in both countries.

"This will be the last friendly of La Roja in 2019 before the qualifying games for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar start next year," said a statement on the Chilean football federation website.

Midfielders Arturo Vidal (Barcelona) and Gary Medel (Bologna) as well as Manchester City goalkeeper Claudio Bravo have given their support to the protests that have been challenging Chilean President Sebastian Pinera for the last three weeks.

Inter Milan forward Alexis Sanchez has also leant his support but he is currently injured and not in the squad to face Peru.

The final of the Copa Libertadores between the Argentinian side River Plate and Flamengo of Brazil, which was due to take place in Santiago on November 23, has been switched to Lima.

Mass demonstrations in Chile, initially provoked last month by the since revoked increase metro ticket prices, has left at least 20 people dead, including five at the hands of the security forces.

The conflict has led to the cancellation of the APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Forum) summit, which was scheduled to be held in Santiago on November 16 and 17, and the UN COP 25 climate conference set for the capital in December.

Squad to face Peru:

Goalkeepers: Claudio Bravo (Manchester City/ENG), Gabriel Arias (Racing/ARG)

Defenders: Miiko Albornoz (Hannover/GER), Mauricio Isla (Fenerbahce/TUR), Guillermo Maripan (Monaco/FRA), Gary Medel (Bologna/ITA), Sebastian Vegas (Monarcas Morelia/MEX), Francisco Sierralta (Udinese/ITA)

Midfielders: Charles Aranguiz (Bayer Leverkusen/GER), Claudio Baeza (Necaxa/MEX), Luis Felipe Gallegos (Necaxa/MEX), Esteban Pavez (Al-Nasr Sport Club/UAE), Erick Pulgar (Fiorentina/ITA), Lorenzo Reyes (Atlas /MEX), Diego Valdes (Santos Laguna/MEX), Arturo Vidal (Barcelona/ESP)

Forwards: Christian Bravo (Montevideo Wanderers/URU), Nicolas Castillo (America/MEX), Jean Meneses (Club Leon/MEX), Felipe Mora (Pumas UNAM/MEX)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5641 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 939 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
21% - 2965 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
33% - 4795 votes