Absa Premiership

Mamelodi Sundowns crowned Absa Premiership champions

Percy Tau and Pitso Mosimane (Gallo Images)
Percy Tau and Pitso Mosimane (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Mamelodi Sundowns have been crowned 2017/18 Absa Premiership champions after beating Ajax Cape Town 3-1 at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Saturday.

Zimbabwean Khama Billiat cancelled out an early strike by Urban Warriors captain Musa Lebusa before goals by Ricardo Nascimento and Sibusiso Vilakazi ensured the three points needed for Masandawana to clinch the title.

Pitso Mosimane’s men now hold an unassailable seven point advantage over second-placed Orlando Pirates – who lost 1-0 to Cape Town City - with one round of fixtures remaining.

"We've got to thank the supporters," Mosimane said after the final whistle.

"They're singing at the top of their voice, thanks to the management, the board, the president of the team and his family without them we wouldn't be where we are.

"Thanks to the players and their families who have been patient with us because we are five out of seven days in a hotel without a complaint and the boys have stuck to it.

"We've been doing this for not one day, two years but for five years and the champions league is on again next year.

"Not forgetting my family, my wife and children for being patient with us...we've been through a lot as a family, Mosimane added.

A smiling Mosimane then hit out at his detractors who he claimed had a campaign against him and his team.

"I know not everyone is happy, but it's okay. I waited for this day. You know what I'm talking about. This is the day...many people are not happy.

"My fans are happy but people are sulking...but Masandawana are five years in a row in the Champions League," he concluded.