PSL fixtures released! Champions Wits open season

Cape Town - The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has released the fixtures for the 2017/18 Absa Premiership season which starts on Friday, August 18.

The opening clash will see PSL heavyweights and league defending champions, Bidvest Wits, welcome Cape Town City to Bidvest Stadium for a Friday evening clash.

On Saturday, SuperSport United take on Tshwane rivals Mamelodi Sundowns at the Lucas Moripe Stadium in Eric Tinkler's first league match in charge of Matsatsantsa. 

After buying out Thanda Royal Zulu's PSL rights, AmaZulu return to top flight football in a home match against Free State Stars while Chippa United travel to Soweto for a mouth-watering clash against Orlando Pirates.

Steve Komphela will hope his Kaizer Chiefs charges can get maximum points when they travel to the Free State Stadium to take on Bloemfontein Celtic on Sunday, August 20.

Opening round of fixtures:


Wits v Cape Town City - 20:00


Polokwane City v Baroka - 15:00

SuperSport United v Mamelodi Sundowns - 15:00

AmaZulu v Free State Stars 15:00

Orlando Pirates v Chippa United 18:00

Ajax Cape Town v Golden Arrows - 20:15


Platinum Stars v Maritzburg United - 15:00

Bloemfontein Celtic v Kaizer Chiefs - 15:00

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24