SA's Lloyd Harris seeded for Australian Open

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Lloyd Harris (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
Lloyd Harris (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)

South African tennis ace Lloyd Harris has been seeded 30th for the Australian Open which starts in Melbourne next Monday (January 17).

Harris' preparations for the year's opening Grand Slam was disrupted by a positive Covid-19 test in Dubai just after Christmas. It prevented him from travelling to Australia for a warm-up event in Melbourne.

But the 24-year-old recovered in time to make the trip Down Under where he entered in the ATP 250-level event in Adelaide this week.

Unfortunately, world No 32 Harris lost 7-5, 5-7, 4-6 in the first round to Korea's 53rd-ranked Soonwoo Kwon on Tuesday, leaving the Capetonian short of match practice ahead of the Australian Open.

Meanwhile, South Africa's other singles hopeful, Kevin Anderson, is down at No 101 in the ATP rankings and will likely face a stern test in his opening match.

Men's singles seeds:

1. Novak Djokovic (SRB), 2. Daniil Medvedev (RUS), 3. Alexander Zverev (GER), 4. Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE), 5. Andery Rublev (RUS), 6. Rafael Nadal (ESP), 7. Matteo Berrettini (ITA), 8. Casper Ruud (NOR), 9. Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN). 10. Hubert Hurkacz (POL), 11. Jannik Sinner (ITA), 12. Cameron Norrie (GBR), 13. Diego Schwartzman (ARG), 14. Denis Shapovalov (CAN), 15. Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP), 16. Cristian Garin (CHI), 17. Gael Monfils (FRA), 18. Aslan Karatsev (RUS), 19. Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP), 20. Taylor Fritz (USA), 21. Nikoloz Basilashvili (GEO), 22. John Isner (USA), 23. Reilly Opelka (USA), 24. Dan Evans (GBR), 25. Lorenzo Sonego (ITA), 26. Grigor Dimitrov (BUL), 27. Marin Cilic (CRO), 28. Karen Khachanov (RUS), 29. Ugo Humbert (FRA), 30. Lloyd Harris (RSA), 31. Carlos Alcarez (ESP), 32. Alex de Minaur (AUS)

Women's singles seeds:

1. Ashleigh Barty (AUS), 2. Aryna Sabalenka (BLR), 3. Garbine Muguruza (ESP), 4. Barbora Krejcikova (CZE), 5. Maria Sakkari (GRE), 6. Anett Kontaveit (EST), 7. Iga Swiatek (POL), 8. Paula Badosa (ESP), 9. Ons Jabeur (TUN), 10. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS), 11. Sofia Kenin (USA), 12. Elena Rybakina (KAZ), 13. Naomi Osaka (JPN), 14. Simona Halep (ROM), 15. Elina Svitolina (UKR), 16. Angelique Kerber (GER), 17. Emma Raducanu (GBR), 18. Coco Gauff (USA), 19. Elise Mertens (BEL), 20. Petra Kvitova (CZE), 21. Jessica Pegula (USA), 22. Belinda Bencic (SUI), 23. Leylah Fernandez (CAN), 24. Victoria Azarenka (BLR), 25. Daria Kasatkina (RUS), 26. Jelena Ostapenko (LAT), 27. Danielle Collins (USA), 28. Veronika Kudermetova (RUS), 29. Tamara Zidansek (SLO), 30. Camila Giorgi (ITA), 31. Marketa Vondrousova (CZE), 32. Sara Sorribes Tormo (ESP)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
52% - 2445 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
48% - 2228 votes