Celebs lead by example

accreditation

On Wednesday, South Africans took to the polls to vote in the local government elections. Many of celebs lead by example to cast their votes – they also encouraged young people to play their part.

Personalities took to Instagram to show us their inked thumbs.

Check it out here:

Bonnie Mbuli

Happy voting ....do the right thing ??

A photo posted by Bonnie Mbuli (@officialbonbizzle) on Aug 3, 2016 at 8:27am PDT

Pearl Modiadie 

Your vote is your voice! I put my ? down and exercised my right to vote with this cutie pie @dognamedhashtag by my side! ? A photo posted by P E A R L ? M O D I A D I E (@pearlmodiadie) on Aug 3, 2016 at 8:31am PDT

Khuli Chana and friend

CHANGE IS COMING #election2016 #Asinavalo

A photo posted by Khuli Chana (@khulichana01) on Aug 3, 2016 at 10:28am PDT

Thembi Seete

???? Done #asinavalo Hoodie @tlangimich A photo posted by bookings@dreamteamsa.co.za (@thembiseete) on Aug 3, 2016 at 5:47am PDT

Moflava

Done!Voted with my mind and heart today ??

A photo posted by Moeti Tsiki (@moflava) on Aug 3, 2016 at 5:26am PDT

Nhlanha Nciza

Voting done???? Asina........qedela wena? A photo posted by Nhlanhla Nciza (@nhlanhla_nciza) on Aug 3, 2016 at 5:54am PDT

Zikhona Sodlaka

Njeeeee. Like akho niks

A photo posted by Zikhona Sodlaka (@zikhonasodlaka) on Aug 3, 2016 at 10:50am PDT

AKA

AMANDLA ?? A photo posted by AKA (@akaworldwide) on Aug 3, 2016 at 4:50am PDT

Zoleka Mandela

Natasha Thahane

?? A photo posted by Natasha Thahane (@natasha_thahane) on Aug 3, 2016 at 11:04am PDT

Zahara

#asinavalo #mademymark X my IEC voting station.

A photo posted by Bulelwa Mkutukana (@zaharasa) on Aug 3, 2016 at 7:19am PDT

Lerato Mvelase

@nobuhlemk86 we voted #freedom #smiling&startingover A photo posted by Lerato Mvelase (@lerato_mvelase) on Aug 3, 2016 at 10:04am PDT

Basetsana Kumalo

Florence Masebe

On that secret vote tip ??? A photo posted by Florence Masebe (@flomasebe) on Aug 3, 2016 at 4:44am PDT

Relebogile Mabotja

?? #2016MunicipalElections

A photo posted by MsMabotja (@relebogile) on Aug 3, 2016 at 9:22am PDT

Terry Pheto

????? A photo posted by Terry Pheto (@terrypheto) on Aug 3, 2016 at 6:19am PDT

Thuli Phongolo

My vote so swaggy, just like my doek!!! #Asinavalo ?? #Done&Dusted ?? Shades by @assf_n ?????

A photo posted by Thulisile Phongolo (@thuliphongolo) on Aug 3, 2016 at 5:17am PDT

Happy A photo posted by Somizi (@somizi) on Aug 3, 2016 at 2:05am PDT

Did you vote?

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24