Lupita Nyong'o nominated for an Oscar!


Our favourite IT girl has made headlines once again. The 12 Years a Slave actress, Lupita Nyong'o, wowed everyone as she strutted the Golden Globes red carpet in a striking red Ralph Lauren gown.
Now, the actress has been nominated for Best Supporting Actress for her role in 12 Years a Slave. We're holding thumbs! This is definitely her season to shine.  Picture credit: Lupita's Instagram account. Below is the full list of nominees:   Best Picture American Hustle Captain Phillips Dallas Buyers Club Gravity Her Nebraska Philomena Saving Mr. Banks 12 Years A Slave The Wolf of Wall Street Best Director Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave Alexander Payne, Nebraska David O. Russell, American Hustle Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street Best Actor Christian Bale, American Hustle Bruce Dern, Nebraska Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years A Slave Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club Best Actress, Drama Amy Adams, American Hustle Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine Sandra Bullock, Gravity Judi Dench, Philomena Meryl Streep, August: Osage County Best Supporting Actor Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips Bradley Cooper, American Hustle Michael Fassbender, 12 Years A Slave Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club Best Supporting Actress Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years A Slave Julia Roberts, August: Osage County June Squibb, Nebraska Best Adapted Screenplay Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope, Philomena Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke, and Julie Delpy, Before Midnight Billy Ray, Captain Phillips John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street Best Original Screenplay David O. Russell and Eric Singer, American Hustle Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine Craig Borten and Melissa Wallack, Dallas Buyers Club Spike Jonze, Her Bob Nelson, Nebraska Best Cinematography The Grandmaster, Philippe Le Sourd Gravity, Emmanuel Lubezki Inside Llewyn Davis, Bruno Delbonnel Nebraska, Phedon Papamichael Prisoners, Roger Deakins Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years A Slave Best Costume Design American Hustle, Michael Wilkinson The Grandmaster, William Chang Suk Ping The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin The Invisible Woman, Michael O'Connor 12 Years A Slave, Patricia Norris Best Film Editing American Hustle, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten Captain Phillips, Christopher Rouse Dallas Buyers Club, John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger 12 Years A Slave, Joe Walker Best Makeup and Hairstyling Dallas Buyers Club, Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa, Stephen Prouty The Lone Ranger, Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny Best Original Score The Book Thief, John Williams Gravity, Stephen Price Her, William Butler and Owen Pallett Philomena, Alexandre Desplat Saving Mr. Banks, Thomas Newman Best Original Song "Alone Yet Not Alone," Alone Yet Not Alone "Happy," Despicable Me 2 "Let It Go," Frozen "The Moon Song," Her "Ordinary Love," Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom Best Production Design American Hustle, Judy Becker (Production Design); Heather Loeffler (Set Decoration) Gravity, Andy Nicholson (Production Design); Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard (Set Decoration) The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin (Production Design); Beverley Dunn (Set Decoration) Her, K.K. Barrett (Production Design); Gene Serdena (Set Decoration) 12 Years A Slave, Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Alice Baker (Set Decoration) Best Sound Editing All Is Lost, Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns Captain Phillips, Oliver Tarney Gravity, Glenn Freemantle The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Brent Burge Lone Survivor, Wylie Stateman Best Sound Mixing Captain Phillips, Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro Gravity, Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson Inside Llewyn Davis, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland Lone Survivor, Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow Best Animated Feature The Croods Despicable Me 2 Ernest & Celestine Frozen The Wind Rises Best Documentary Feature The Act of Killing Cutie and the Boxer Dirty Wars The Square 20 Feet from Stardom Best Foreign Language Film The Broken Circle Breakdown The Great Beauty The Hunt The Missing Picture Omar

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24