Here are the 2018 SA Car of the Year finalists!


Johannesburg - The finalists competing in the 2018 South African Car of the Year (CoTY) has been revealed. 

The vehicles have been selected by jury members of the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ). Wheels24's Janine Van Der Post will once again be a judge in the annual competition.

The SAGMJ revealed the 2018 WesBank South African Car Of The Year competition finalists at the Bryanston Country Club on Tuesday (September 19).

Wheels24 will run our annual Readers' SA Car of the Year competition poll for the finalists. Vote here. We've included a list of previous SA CoTY winners at the end of this article. 

Gallery: 2018 SA Car of the Year finalists

Which vehicle do you think should should be crowned the 2018 SA Car of the Year? Tell us why!

Here are the  finalists: In alphabetical order

Here are the semi-finalists: 

Audi Q2 

Honda BR-V

Honda CR-V

Hyundai Creta

Hyundai Elantra 

Kia Sportage

Mini Countryman

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport

Nissan Navara

Renault Megane 

Suzuki Baleno

Which vehicle do you think should should be crowned the 2018 SA Car of the Year? Tell us why!

Car of the Year testing

The 2018 SA Car of the Year Jury will put the finalists through structured testing procedures at the end of January 2018, before scoring each finalist against its direct class competitors on aspects that include:

  • Affordability
  • Cabin styling, layout, and ergonomics
  • Engine performance and technology
  • Engineering integrity and build quality
  • Exterior design
  • Overall excellence
  • Ride quality
  • Steering and handling
  • New technology
  • Transmission performance
  • Value for money

2017 winner: Opel Astra

South African Car of the Year: Previous winners

2017 Opel Astra
2016 Volvo XC90
2015 Porsche Macan S Diesel
2014 Porsche Cayman S
2013 Porsche Boxster
2012 Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS
2011 VW Polo 1.6 TDI and BMW 530d
2010 VW Golf 6 1.4 TSI Comfortline
2009 Honda Accord 2.4i Executive
2008 Mazda 2 Individual
2007 Honda Civic 1.8 VXi
2006 Audi A3 Sportback 2.0T FSI
2005 Volvo S40
2004 Renault Mégane 1.9 dCi
2003 VW Polo 1.4 TDI
2002 Audi A4 1.9 TDI
2001 BMW 320d
2000 Renault Clio 1.4 RT
1999 Alfa Romeo 156 T-Spark
1998 Ford Fiesta Fun
1997 BMW 528i
1996 Audi A4 1.8
1995 Opel Astra 160iS
1994 Opel Kadett 140
1993 BMW 316i
1992 Nissan Maxima 300 SE
1991 Opel Monza 160 GSi
1990 BMW 525i
1989 Toyota Corolla GLi Executive
1988 BMW 735
1987 Mercedes-Benz 260
1986 Toyota Corolla Twin Cam

Most wins by manufacturer

6 BMW 1988, 1990, 1993, 1997, 2001, 2011
4 Opel 1991, 1994, 1995, 2017
3 Audi 1996, 2002, 2006
3 Volkswagen 2003, 2010, 2011
3 Porsche 2013, 2014, 2015
2 Honda 2007, 2009
2 Renault 2000, 2004
2 Toyota 1986, 1989
2 Volvo 2005, 2016
1 Alfa Romeo 1999
1 Ford 1998
1 Hyundai 2012
1 Mazda 2008
1 Mercedes-Benz 1987
1 Nissan 1992

The SA Guild of Motoring Journalists is the custodian of the South African Car Of The Year competition since 1986, with WesBank – one of South Africa’s largest vehicle finance institutions – as its sponsor since inception. AutoTrader supplies support sponsorship with MAPO Software Solutions once again supplying the electronic voting mechanisms.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Lockdown For
Brought to you by
Voting Booth
Do you think Mercedes will return to form later in the 2022 F1 season after two poor races?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes, don't discredit them.
33% - 611 votes
Who cares, F1 is exciting again!
44% - 812 votes
No, it's Ferrari's turn to dominate again.
23% - 430 votes