Schumacher vs Hamilton - Guess which driver has won the German GP the most number of times


• Germany will host the 11th round of the 2020 F1 championship.

• Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton have won the German GP four times, each.

• Ferrari is the most successful constructor at the event.

For more motoring stories, go to

This weekend the Formula 1 circus moves to Germany for the eleventh round of the 2020 season.

Held at the famous Nurburgring, the first time since 2013, the race will not be known as the German Grand Prix, but instead as the Eifel GP.

Over the years, F1 has staged 64 GPs in Germany, with Sunday's race set to be the 65th in a rich history. The German race, whether held at the Nurburgring or Hockenheim, has been subjected to substantial financial troubles the last decade or so, which led to the race not being staged on a few occasions.

Today we'll look at some of the winners of the German GP, as well as which teams made the biggest impression at the event.

Big winners

The great Michael Schumacher made a huge impact on the sport. Not only did the German driver record several records to his name, but he is also the most successful at a German GP. During his first career, Schumacher won the event a record four times, but, in recent years, a certain Lewis Hamilton has made his presence felt.

Hamilton is tied with Schumacher on four wins but could register his fifth win at the event when the chequered flag drops on Sunday.

Juan Manual Fangio, Jackie Stewart, Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna, and Fernando Alonso have each won the race three times. Sebastian Vettel and Max Verstappen managed to do it only once: Vettel in 2013 and Verstappen last year.

michael schumacher,f1,ferrari,formula 1

Michael Schumacher (Martin Rose / Bongarts / Getty Images)

The leading team

If you had to bet and say that Ferrari is the most successful constructor at the German GP, you'd be right on the money. The Italian team has won a record 21 events, followed by the now-defunct Williams F1 team on nine wins.

McLaren has eight wins to their name, while the Mercedes-AMG F1 team only has four. Red Bull tasted success twice at the German GP, while Renault could only do so once.

michael Schumacher,f1,ferrari,formula 1,

Michael Schumacher doing a burnout in his Ferrari, Germany 2004 (Lars Baron / Getty Images)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24