SEE | Mercedes, Ferrari, Williams - These teams won the most championships in a row

2020 Mercedes-AMG F1 car (Jenifer Lorenzini / Getty Images)
2020 Mercedes-AMG F1 car (Jenifer Lorenzini / Getty Images)
Jenifer Lorenzini

• Mercedes-AMG won a record seven consecutive F1 championships in 2020.

• Ferrari is the next best team with six consecutive wins.

• Mercedes is the most dominant team in the sport's history.

For more motoring stories, go to

This past Sunday at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Italy, the Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 team rewrote history by winning a record seven Constructors' championships. They've done so in impeccable fashion, destroying their on-track rivals in a manner few could have predicted.

Mercedes' dominance began back in 2014 when the turbo-hybrid era came into play. Under the then-guidance of Ross Brawn, Toto Wolff and Paddy Lowe, the team went about a streak of dominance that could, if the early signs are to be believed, will stretch beyond the 2021 season. In 2022, new technical regulations will come into play.

When the team rejoined F1 in 2010, it did so on the basis that a new era will begin in 2014 - an era from which its road cars will benefit directly. With each passing season, the team's dominance grew; so too did their understanding of what goes into exploiting the benefits of hybrid technologies. It culminated in the team winning seven drivers' and constructors' championships on the trot. The driver's championship is yet to be decided, but Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton is well on track to securing it in 2020.

Consecutive wins

Coming into the 2020 season, Mercedes-AMG was tied with Ferrari on winning six Constructors' championships in a row. Ferrari achieved the feat during its glory years from 1999 - 2004, when, with Michael Schumacher leading the team, they were near unstoppable. The fabled Italian team is still struggling to rekindle their golden years, but it's taking far longer than they would have liked.

Between 1975 and 1977, Ferrari won the championship three times in a row.

McLaren won the championship for four years in a row between 1988 and 1991. For 1988 and 1989, Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost were the team's drivers, but Prost moved to Ferrari in 1990 while Senna remained with the team; helping them to championship glory in 1990 and 1991.

Red Bull won the championship for four years between 2010 and 2013, while Williams achieved three consecutive title wins between 1992 and 1994.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24