Marquez cruises at Le Mans as Zarco crashes out

<i> Image: AFP / Jean-Francois Monier </i>
<i> Image: AFP / Jean-Francois Monier </i>
Jean-Francois Monier

Le Mans, France - Marc Marquez reeled off his third win on the bounce in the French MotoGP on Sunday as home favourite and pole sitter Johann Zarco crashed out.

Marquez took his 38th success in the top category unchallenged from Danilo Petrucci (Ducati Pramac) with Italian veteran Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) in third.

Frenchman Zarco goes home pointless

Zarco had the home fans at Le Mans' Bugatti circuit dreaming of a rare French win after his record-setting pole 24 hours earlier but the Yamaha Tech star slid out of contention on lap seven.

Zarco's premature exit left Marquez in control in a race that after early drama turned into something of a procession.

The result tightened Marquez's grip on the MotoGP standings with the defending four-time champion on 95 points.

His closest pursuer is Maverick Vinales, albeit 36 points behind, with Zarco on 58 points in third, and seven-time world champion Rossi two points further adrift.

At the start, Zarco was quickly displaced at the front by track specialist Jorge Lorenzo, as behind Andrea Iannone on a Suzuki came to grief at the sixth corner.

Andrea Dovizioso's Ducati then swept past Lorenzo but no sooner had the Italian made his move than he too crashed.

It was then hapless Zarco's turn to exit, stage left, as the French MotoGP idol parted company with his bike with 20 laps remaining.

With the great gallic home hope out of the picture it didn't take long for Marquez to make his decisive move as Lorenzo back pedalled, eventually finishing sixth.

If the MotoGP race was lacking in whiteknuckle excitement, the same was certainly not the case in the Moto3 Grand Prix with Spain's Albert Arenas awarded the win after Fabio Di Giannantonio was demoted to fourth for cutting a corner.

Honda's Italian rider crossed the line first at Le Mans' Bugatti circuit but was hit with a three-second penalty, with KTM's Arenas promoted from second to first.

"That's fantastic, it's hard to believe," said the 21-year-old, celebrating his first win since his debut season in 2014.

Andrea Migno and Marcos Ramirez joined Arenas on the all KTM podium.

Another KTM rider, Marco Bezzecchi leads the championship standings on 63 points, with Di Giannantonio four points behind in second and his Honda teammate Aron Canet in third, three points further back.

Bezzecchi held onto the championship lead despite a final bend crash with Honda's Jorge Martin.

In Moto2, championship leader Francesco Bagnaia then made it three wins out of five this season. Kalex's Italian rider set off from pole and held off all challengers to add this to his wins in the opening race in Qatar and at the Grand Prix of the Americas.

Joining him on the Kalex-dominated podium were Spaniards Alex Marquez and reigning Moto3 champion Joan Mir.

Bagnaia moved up to 98 points in the Moto2 standings, 19 points clear of Miguel Oliveira. 

MotoGP results: 

1. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) 41min 49.773sec
2. Danilo Petrucci (ITA/Ducati Pramac) at 2.310sec
3. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 5.350
4. Jack Miller (AUS/Ducati Pramac) 6.314
5. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 7.419
6. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Ducati) 10.355
7. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha) 13.543
8. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/LCR Honda) 23.758
9. Aleix Espargaro (ESP/Aprilia) 26.206
10. Alex Rins (ESP/Suzuki) 27.937

Championship standings (after five of 19 races)

1. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) 95 points
2. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha) 59
3. Johann Zarco (FRA/Yamaha Tech3) 58
4. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 56
5. Danilo Petrucci (ITA/Ducati Pramac) 54
6. Jack Miller (AUS/Ducati Pramac) 49
7. Andrea Iannone (ITA/Suzuki) 47
8. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/LCR Honda) 46
9. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 46
10. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 29


1. Francesco Bagnaia (ITA/Kalex) 40:40.162, 
2. Alex Marquez (ESP/Kalex) at 2.709, 
3. Joan Mir (ESP/Kalex) 4.865

Championship standings

1. Francesco Bagnaia (ITA/Kalex) 98 points, 
2. Miguel Oliveira (POR/KTM) 73, 
3. Alex Marquez (ESP/Kalex) 67


1. Albert Arenas (ESP/KTM) 37:40.056
2. Andrea Migno (ITA/KTM) at 0.160
3. Marcos Ramirez (ESP/KTM) 0.709

Championship standings

1. Marco Bezzecchi (ITA/KTM) 63 points
2. Fabio Di Giannantonio (ITA/Honda) 59
3. Aron Canet (ESP/Honda) 56

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Lockdown For
Brought to you by
Voting Booth
Who do you feel was at fault for Verstappen and Hamilton's Italian GP crash?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
25% - 1178 votes
42% - 1927 votes
They were both at fault
33% - 1530 votes