How a masterstroke by Mercedes may have just sealed the F1 championship for Hamilton

Share your Subscriber Article
You have 5 articles to share every month. Send this story to a friend!
play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton
Lars Baron

Mercedes-AMG has not been Formula 1 constructors' champions for eight straight seasons for nothing. They've garnered all their motorsport experience, appointed the best possible people for the different jobs, and always ensured they have the best possible drivers in their cars' seats. These drivers include Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg (2010 to 2012), Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton (2013 to 2016), and Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas (2017 to 2021).

Next year, Hamilton will be joined by George Russell at Mercedes-AMG.

But in the team's growth over the last decade, they've gained the necessary experience, skills and know-how to land the big blow when it comes to championship challenges. This has been evident by their uninterrupted run of success since 2014 and winning both championships almost unopposed.

Support independent journalism
Subscribe to News24 for just R75 per month to read all our investigative and in-depth journalism. You can cancel any time.
Already a subscriber? Sign in
Lockdown For
Brought to you by
Voting Booth
Who do you feel was at fault for Verstappen and Hamilton's Italian GP crash?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
25% - 1478 votes
43% - 2502 votes
They were both at fault
31% - 1828 votes