Formula E comes to town! Electric single-seater series adds Mother City to 2022 calendar

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Jaguar Formula E Racing Team
Jaguar Formula E Racing Team

• Cape Town has provisionally been added to the 2021/2022 Formula E calendar.

• The race is scheduled to take place on Saturday, 26 February 2022.

• Cape Town is finally added after two years of bidding.

For more motoring stories, go to Wheels24

For years rumours of a South African Formula 1 race have been doing the rounds. In fact, just a few years ago, three locations in-and-around Cape Town were identified as possible locations for an F1 track: the open field between Cape Town International airport and Delft, Malmesbury, and the Green Point area in Cape Town.

While F1 fans might not have this dream realised, it's now been announced that a Cape Town race will be added to the 2022 Formula E calendar. The proposed track is yet to be announced, with the race is earmarked for Saturday, 26 February.

Cape Town Mayor Dan Plato, said: "Cape Town is pleased to be chosen as one of the cities to participate in the Formula E tournament. The event will unlock major investment, job creation and tourism potential by identifying Cape Town as the racing destination on the African continent. We look forward to working toward this event.

"The City has the necessary infrastructure and skills to host an event of this size, and we are confident that the event will further cement Cape Town's global reputation as the World's Leading Festival and Event Destination."

Formula E is governed by the same body that runs F1, the FIA.

Brief history on Formula E

In 2022, Formula E will enter its eighth season. The series, the electric equivalent of F1, began in September 2014 and has established itself as a viable alternative to single-seater racing in the future. Part of the motorsport code's appeal is that it races in city centres worldwide, with cities like Berlin, London, New York, and Monaco all having signed long-term deals to host races.

Several F1 drivers who lost their seats in the pinnacle of motorsport jumped ship to Formula E. Of these, several have gone on to reign supreme in the new sport. Nelson Piquet Jr. won the inaugural championship in 2014/2015, while Jean-Éric Vergne, another former F1 driver, is the only person to have won the Formula E championship on two occasions: 2017/2018 and 2018/2019. António Félix da Costa became the first non-F1 driver to win the championship in 2019/2020.

Several automakers withdrew their participation in other forms of motorsport to join Formula E's mission of creating green racing. These include Audi, BMW, Jaguar, Mahindra, Mercedes-AMG, and Nissan.

Iain Banner, chairman of e-Movement (Pty) Ltd (the promoters of the Cape Town leg of the World Championship), said: "We are delighted and honoured to be included on the calendar after two years of bidding to make this dream a reality."

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Petrol prices are almost at R30 per litre. What are you doing to help deal with monthly fuel bills?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
I've downgraded my vehicle.
10% - 145 votes
I've joined a lift club.
4% - 58 votes
Nothing I can do. I am struggling with costs.
60% - 847 votes
Working from home is a saving grace.
26% - 371 votes