KZN trio in the run for Athletics SA top post


THREE officials from KZN are among the five officials nominated to become the new president of Athletics South Africa (ASA).

The names of Steve Mkasi, Sello Mokoena and Aleck Skhosana from KZN were announced by ASA yesterday morning in Johannesburg.

The other two nominees are Dr Harold Adams from Boland and James Evans, the contentious former president of ASA who was ousted with his council during a palace revolution in ASA late last year.

Central Gauteng’s Hendrick Ramaala, an Olympic athlete and ASA’s former deputy president who two weeks ago competed in the the second Two Oceans race, was not nominated by his province because he had competed in the colours of Nedbank, which sponsors Gauteng North.

Ramaala appealed to the South Gauteng High Court on Thursday, but the case was scrapped.

ASA’s interim council had stripped of all authority Evans and his council at the end of last year, but the interim committee was not recognised by the International Association of Athletic Federations.

After a prolonged stalemate between the interim and Evan’s councils, the federation had mediated an ad hoc-committee to manage athletics in South Africa until an election could be held on May 24.

Daan du Toit, chairperson of the ad hoc committee who currently manages the sport ahead of the May 24 election, said the committee will meet next week Friday in Potchefstroom during the SA Open meeting to hear any objections against the list of nominees.

The constitution of ASA requires for at least three of its ten council members to be women.


For president: Harold Adams (Boland), James Evans (WP), Steve Mkasi (KZN), Sello Mokoena (KZN) en Alexk Skhosana (KZN).

For deputy president: Dr. Harold Adams (Boland), James Evans (WP), Dr. Kulu Ferreira (Vrystaat), Motlatsi Keikabile (North West North), Daan Louw (Border), William Mokatsanayne (Central Gauteng), Sello Mkoena (KZN).

Chair cross country: Jakes Jacobs (WP), Andy James (WP), Steven Khanyile (Central Gauteng), Daan Louw (Border), Sello Mokoena (KZN).

Chair road running: James Evans (WP), Klasie Geldenhuys (Free State), Jakes Jacobs (WP), Steve Mkasi (KZN), James Moloi (Central Gauteng), Ferdie Nel (Griekwas), Norrie Williamson (KZN).

Chair track and field: James Evans (WP), Pieter Lourens (Boland), Cedrick van Wyk (WP).

Chair athletes committee: Dorah Mngwevu (Central Gauteng), Elizna Naudé (Free State).

Additional members: Leon Bannau (Limpopo), Allen Barnes (WP), James Evans (WP), Klasie Geldenhuys (Free State), Ntathu Gwadiso (Border), Rishi Hansrajh (KZN), Jakes Jacobs (WP), Motlatsi Keikabile (North West North), Sabata Kumalo (Vaal Triangle), Wimpie Lodewyk (Free State), Pieter Lourens (Boland), Esther Malema (Limpopo), Richard Mayer (Central Gauteng), Steve Mkaasi (KZN), Hendrik Mokganyetsi (DCS), James Moloi (Central Gauteng), Lungisile Molwana (Transkei), Ferdie Nel (Griekwas), Lee-Roy Newton (KZN), Shireen Noble (SWWD), Steven Swarts (Free State), Owen van Niekerk (Central Gauteng), Norrie Williamson (KZN).

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Daily Poll
Given the developments around the new Omicron variant, do you think we should be in a stricter lockdown level?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
24% - 27 votes
34% - 39 votes
It won’t make any difference - people won’t adhere to the regulations anyway
42% - 48 votes


Read the digital editions of Witness here.
Read now