Comrades appoints new chairperson

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Mqondisi Ngcobo is the new Comrades Marathon Association chairperson. PHOTO: CMA
Mqondisi Ngcobo is the new Comrades Marathon Association chairperson. PHOTO: CMA

The Comrades Marathon Association (CMA) has appointed Mqondisi Ngcobo as its new chairperson and bids farewell to former boss, Cheryl Winn.

Ngcobo was appointed to the position during the CMA’s Annual General Meeting that was held on Wednesday night.

Before his appointment, Ngcobo was the vice-chairperson to Winn, who has been the chair for the past four years.

The CMA has also appointed Les Burnard as the new vice-chairperson, while one new member, Vukani Dlamini, has joined the Comrades board.

The Comrades nine-person board is now made up of Mqondisi Ngcobo, Les Burnard, Vukani Dlamini, Patricia Freeman, Celi Makhoba, KwaZulu-Natal Athletics president Steve Mkasi, Isaac Ngwenya, Phumlani Ntuli and Zinhle Sokhela.

“In accordance with its Constitution two further Board members may be co-opted at the discretion of the Board at their next sitting,” said the CMA in a media statement that confirmed the latest changes.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Daily Poll
Do you think that with the increasing numbers of Covid-19 cases in the country that vaccines should be mandatory?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 36 votes
32% - 28 votes
Why are we even still debating this
27% - 24 votes


Read the digital editions of Witness here.
Read now