No surprises at Sama Awards

2001-04-06 08:09

No one person dominated this year's South African Music Awards(Samas).

The Soul Brothers made the Best Mbaqanga Album their personal domain. They won the category for the last seven years running. Mandoza, won best Kwaito and Song Of The Year awards.

Pietersberg-born guitarist Selaelo Selota, won the Best Newcomer and Best Contemporary Jazz Album awards.

Other double winners include Lebo, voted Best Dance Album and Dance Single of the year. Veteran Miriam Makeba took Best Female and Best Adult Contemporary artist in the African category.

The Springbok Nude Girls picked up the best rock album award for Relaxzor.

Don Laka's Pyramid won the best male artist category, beating Paul Hanmer, Vusi Mahlasela, McCoy Mrubata and Kulu. Bayete and Jabu Khanyile, picked up the best duo or group award for Thobekile.

Two artists were honoured by the Sama committee for their incredible success outside South African borders.

Both South African music stalwarts Ladysmith Black Mambazo and Lebo M were given Best Achievement by a South African Artist in International Markets awards for taking the sounds of South African music to millions of ears around the globe with their worldwide performances and incredible record sales.

An edited version of the 2001 Standard Bank South African Music Awards will be broadcast on SABC 1 at 9pm on Saturday April 7.