Smith captain of World Team

2008-09-10 21:05
Dubai - Proteas skipper Graeme Smith has been named as captain of the ICC's World Test Team of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed independent selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd.

Two other South Africans, Jacques Kallis and Dale Steyn have also been included in the side.

Herschelle Gibbs is the only South African to have made the ICC ODI Team of the Year, captained by Australia's Ricky Ponting.

The announcement were made at the LG ICC Awards celebration at The Westin Hotel, Dubai. Presented in association with Fica, the awards recognise the best international players of the past 12 months.

World Test Team of the Year 2008 is as follows (in batting order):

Graeme Smith (SA, captain), Virender Sehwag (Ind, Mahela Jayawardena (SL), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Jacques Kallis (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wicketkeeper), Brett Lee (Aus), Ryan Sidebottom (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), 12th man: Stuart Clark (Aus)

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and three players - Kevin Pietersen of England and the Sri Lanka pair of Kumar Sangakkara and Muttiah Muralitharan - also appeared in the World Test Team of the Year in 2007. Sangakkara and Muralitharan also appeared in the Test Team of the Year for 2006 as well.

Australia's Ricky Ponting is selected as ODI captain for second year in a row and named in the team for third year running

The ICC World ODI Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Hershelle Gibbs (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain), Yunus Khan (Pak), Andrew Symonds (Aus), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper), Farveez Maharoof (SL), Daniel Vettori (NZ, Brett Lee (Aus), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Nathan Bracken (Aus), 12th man: Salman Butt (Pak)

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and two players - Ricky Ponting of Australia and India's Sachin Tendulkar - also appeared in the World ODI Team of the Year in 2007. Ponting appeared in the ODI Team of the Year for 2006 as well while Andrew Symonds had previously been named in the 2005 team.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

AB praises selfless skipper

2010-11-21 18:15 publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.