8 newcomers in Stormers squad

2006-01-16 21:30

Cape Town - Rayno Benjamin is one of eight newcomers in the Stormers squad who might get their first taste of Super 14 rugby this year.

Benjamin, Jonghi Nokwe, Peter Grant, Naas Olivier, Justin Melck, Henk Eksteen, Daniel Theron and Attie Winter have never played at this level.

It will be the first time Paul Delport, Schalk Brits and Huia Edmonds will play for the Stormers in the Super 14.

It is a well-deserved reward for Benjamin, who played good Currie Cup rugby for Boland last year.

The fast wing was the top try scorer in the competition. Nokwe and Eksteen also play for Boland.

Delport and Brits played for the Cats in the Super 12 series and Edmonds wore the Waratahs jersey.

Benjamin said: "I enjoy every moment with the Stormers.

"I have great expectations at the start of the Super 14. I'm going to give my best with every opportunity I get."

The final squad to play in the Super 14 series has not yet been named. A few changes will be have to be made as Joe van Niekerk is still out of action.

The eighthman will at the earliest play in the fourth match.

Prop Neil Fullard is also injured and the Stormers do not really have great depth in this position.

The Stormers team to play the Bulls at Newlands on Saturday will be announced on Wednesday.

Coach Kobus van der Merwe has already made it clear that he will not take any chances with his Springboks in the expected physical match against the Bulls.

Players like scrumhalf Delport and the new flyhalf, Naas Olivier, will get an opportunity to show what they can do against the Bulls.

The Stormers squad: Werner Greeff, Tonderai Chavhanga, Rayno Benjamin, Egon Seconds, Marius Joubert, Jean de Villiers, De Wet Barry, Jonghi Nokwe, Peter Grant, Naas Olivier, Neil de Kock, Paul Delport, Bolla Conradie, Adri Badenhorst, Justin Melck, Schalk Burger, Hendrik Gerber, Luke Watson, Henk Eksteen, Andries Bekker, Duimpie Theron, Gerrie Britz, Ross Skeate, Eddie Andrews, Attie Winter, Schalk Brits, Hanyani Shimange, Huia Edmonds and JD Moller.