Fourie leads Sevens Down Under

2001-01-10 20:08

Cape Town - Andries Fourie will captain the Springbok Sevens squad in the third and fourth round of the International Rugby Board's World Sevens Series in New Zealand and Australia.

The first two rounds were completed in Durban and Dubai respectively, while the third round takes place on 9 and 10 February 2001 in Wellington.

The fourth round is scheduled for 16 and 17 February in Brisbane.

Three members of the current Springbok Sevens squad to compete in the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Mar del Plata in Argentina will make the trip to Australasia. They are Helgard Brink, Paul Treu and Andre Pretorius.

The full squad is: Herman Mostert (WP), Jacques Olivier (Blue Bulls), Dale Heidtmann (Border), Helgard Brink (Blue Bulls), Andries Fourie (EP, captain), Wayne van Heerden (EP), Paul Treu (SWD Eagles), Johan Calitz (Leopards), Gcobani Bobo (Golden Lions), Fabian Juries (EP), Thobela Mdaka (Border), Andre Pretorius (Golden Lions). - Sapa