Rassie names Stormers squad

2007-11-22 11:17

Cape Town - Stormers coach Rassie Erasmus on Wednesday announced a provisional squad of 40 players to go on a 10-day training camp to George as part of the team's pre-season preparations for next year's Super 14.

The camp will take place from Monday, December 10 to Friday, December 21.

New Stormers recruits Gcobani Bobo, Adriaan Fondse, Wylie Human, Ricky Januarie and Brian Mujati have all been included in the squad.

Western Province contributed the bulk of the squad. Erasmus surprised by including two WP youngsters, Under-19 centre Juan de Jongh and Under-21 lock George Earl, in the squad.

WP Under-21 coach Jerome Paarwater said De Jongh is definitely a prospect for the future. The Paarl youngster was also recently included in the national Sevens squad.

Paarwater said University of Stellenbosch star Earl was a lock that could be used as loose forward too. "He was on the bench for us mostly. I used him as an impact player in the second half and he without fail made a difference.

"I am not really surprised that Rassie included him in the training squad because I don't doubt his abilities as a player. It is good for him, although I don't know how far he will be involved.

"Maybe he will just go the camp, but it nevertheless is good exposure for him."

Stormers squad:


Gio Aplon, Gcobani Bobo, Juan de Jongh, Tonderai Chavhanga, Jean de Villiers, Dylan des Fountain, Isma-eel Dollie, Dewald Duvenhage, Peter Grant, Conrad Hoffmann, Wylie Human, Conrad Jantjes, Ricky Januarie, Sireli Naqelevuki, Morgan Newman, Corne Uys.


Andries Bekker, Schalk Brits, Schalk Burger, Robbie Diack, Nico du Plessis, Ruuan du Preez, George Earl, Adriaan Fondse, Schalk Ferreira, Deon Fourie, Brock Harris, Rito Hlungwane, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Pieter Louw, Justin Melck, JD Moller, Brian Mujati, Pieter Myburgh, Hanyani Shimange, Ross Skeate, Francois van der Merwe, Janro van Niekerk, Luke Watson.

The following players will not be attending the camp due to injury:

Eddie Andrews, Bolla Conradie, Paul Delport.

Tony Brown was also not considered as he will only join the team in 2008.