Super 14 carrot for Cheetahs

2005-01-19 21:29

Bloemfontein - The Cheetahs are going to try, along with the Griffons and Griquas, to field one of South Africa's five Super 14 regional teams from 2006.

The three unions have drawn up a document to be handed to SA Rugby in Cape Town on February 15.

All unions who are interested in fielding a team, including teams such as the Blue Bulls, Sharks, Lions and Western Province, have to compile similar documents.

"I'm happy with the document we've compiled," said Free State president Harold Verster. "We comply with the criteria laid down by SA Rugby and we stand an excellent chance of getting our own regional team."

Oral presentations will be made on April 14 and the five regional South African teams for 2006 will be announced on April 15.

Transformation will not be a problem for the Cheetahs. The Cheetahs normally fielded six players of colour in their 22-man squads in the Currie Cup last season.

Players from the central area who may play Super 12 rugby this year include:

Sharks: Wian du Preez (loosehead), Solly Tyibilika (flanker), Bian Vermaak (flanker/lock who is training and may be included in the final 30), Ruan Pienaar (scrumhalf), Bismarck du Plessis (hooker) and Tsepo Kokoali (fullback) who played rugby in Bloemfontein last season.

Bulls: Trompie Nontshinga (wing), who could be included in the Bulls' final 30-man squad, Gurthro Steenkamp (loosehead) and Kennedy Tsimba (flyhalfl) who moved to Pretoria at the end of last year.

Cats: Eddie Fredericks (wing), Dewey Swartbooi (centre), Willem de Waal (flyhalf), who will be included in the final 30-man squad), Michael Claassens (scrumhalf), Juan Smith (flanker), Boela du Plooy (lock), Barend Pieterse (lock), CJ van der Linde (tighthead), Naka Drotske (hooker), Rich Verster (hooker), who may be included in the 30-man squad, Ollie le Roux (prop), Os du Randt (loosehead) who will be included in the final 30-man squad.

Stormers: Gerrie Britz (flanker/lock), Tonderai Chavhanga (wing/fullback) and Hanyani Shimange (hooker) who wore the Cheetahs jersey last season.

Springbok Sevens team: Eddie Fredericks, Gareth Krause, José van Rensburg and Thobela Mdaka.