Yet another rugby controversy

2006-10-31 19:03

Cape Town - Another day, and yet another rugby controversy. And this time it involves the casting vote of SA rugby boss Oregan Hoskins after Luke Watson and Kabamba Floors received the same number of votes as the Players' player of the Year.

Mark Keohane reported on his website that on Monday morning Luke Watson was confirmed as the Players' player of the Year, but in a day of drama was controversially replaced by Kabamba Floors.

Saru president Oregan Hoskins confirmed his leadership gave the award to Floors amid another day of contradictions and embarrassment, with South African Rugby Players' Association chairperson Piet Heymans saying Floors had won by eight votes.

Saru, however, confirmed through written correspondence that its leadership had made the decision to give the award to Floors on Tuesday morning, despite Heymans claiming Floors was an outright winner on Monday evening (by eight votes).

Email correspondence to read: "I (Mr Hoskins) was phoned on Tuesday and asked to deliver a casting vote for the SA Rugby Players' Player of the Year Award as the Sarpa voting process had delivered a stalemate between Luke Watson and Kabamba Floors.

Full story on