How to lodge a complaint against a Public Protector hopeful

Members of the public have nine days to lodge complaints about the applicants and nominees for the appointment of Public Protector.

The Public Protector ad hoc committee released the list of possible candidates on Tuesday, with 59 up for consideration to fill Thuli Madonsela's shoes.

The names include that of deputy public protector Advocate Kevin Malunga, ANC MP Loyiso Mpumlwana, EFF chairperson Advocate Dali Mpofu, Judge Sirajudien Desai and Professor Pierre de Vos.

Committee chairperson Dr Makhosi Khoza on Tuesday urged members of the public and civil society to lodge their complaints in time.

Read more: Thuli Madonsela’s morning routine will make you feel like you’re really underachieving

"It should also be borne in mind that objections against a nominee or applicant will not be automatically used to eliminate a particular candidate. The committee will follow due process in validating such objections," she said.

The committee appealed to anyone making comments and objections to disclose their identity in order to authenticate their submissions.

The list of names has been published on Parliament's website, with CVs attached.

Members of the public should scrutinise the names and CVs and send their comments or objections to Vhonani Ramaano on by Friday, July 8.

The nominees are

1. Bernard Peter Agulhas

2. Adv Rhulani Ralph Baloyi

3. Melanie Bernard (Fryer)

4. Prof Narnia Bohler-Muller

5. Vincent James Botto

6. Adv Nonkosi Princess Cetywayo

7. Raymond Edward Chalom

8. Prof Pierre de Vos

9. Judge Sirajudien Desai

10. Phillip Dexter

11. Adv Pumeza Futshane

12. Adv Andrea Gabriel SC

13. Nombonisa Gasa

14. Adv Mathys Johannes Gildenhuys

15. Adv MT Goodman (nee Shai)

16. Pregs Govender

17. Adv Mojankunyane Gumbi

18. Prof Alexander Mzamo Gumbi

19. Adv Mark Andrew Hawyes

20. Nick Haysom

21. Adv William Andrew Hofmeyr

22. Adv Zarina Kellerman (nee Prasadh)

23. Adv KB Kgoroeadira

24. Ashook Kirpal

25. Burt Silverston Laing

26. Ms Muvhango Lukhaimane

27. Graca Simbine Machel (nomination declined)

28. Adv Zwelethu Madasa

29. Adv Thuli Madonsela

30. Prince Sefako Mafojane

31. Zola Majavu (nomination declined)

32. Adv Mohale Joseph Maluleke

33. Adv Kevin Sifiso Malunga

34. Lynnette Gail Marais

35. Busisiwe Mkhwebane

36. Vickqus Nkosikhona Mncube

37. Adv Hishaam Mohamed

38. M Mohlala-Mulaudzi

39. Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (nominated declined)

40. Adv Chris Madibeng Mokoditwa

41. Ronnie Samuel Mokoena

42. Thokwane Phineas Post Moloto

43. Tjitlo Monaledi

44. Audrey Mpofu

45. Adv Dali Mpofu SC

46. Adv Loyiso Khanyisa Bunye Mpumlwana

47. M Mthebule

48. Adv MM Mthembu

49. Themba Phillip Mthethwa

50. Adv Philani Pilatu Sydney Mthethwa

51. Janine Kim Myburgh

52. Krish Naidoo

53. Gerrie Nel (nomination declined)

54. Nhlanhla Nene (nomination declined)

55. Malcolm John Sphiwe Nhleko

56. Sophy Moipone Noko

57. Vuyokazi Pamella Noncembu

58. Nokuthula Sincercia Nwaoshai

59. Mthuthuzeki Moshesh Nyiki

60. Jill Claudelle Oliphant

61. Adv Vusi Pikoli (nomination declined)

62. Kaajal Ramjathan-Keogh

63. Tshepiso David Humphrey Ramphele

64. Riaz Achmed Saloojee

65. Jonas Ben Sibanyoni

66. MBoiki-John Tamako

67. Bawinile May Thabethe (nomination declined)

68. Adv Tseliso Thipanyane

69. Adv Randal Titus

70. Khunoana Harry Tswago

71. Vuyisa Vuza

72. Hermanus Lambertus Waldicks

73. Justice Sharise Weiner


We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24